Who Will Win the 2020 Gubernatorial Races?

Who Will Win the 2020 Gubernatorial Races?

Betting Odds On The 2020 Governors’ Races

Odds for who will become the new Governor of a state have become popular lines at political betting sites, and we’ve got eleven important races in 2020 with New Jersey and Virginia to follow in 2021.

In 2020, 11 states will hold gubernatorial races: Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, New Hampshire, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, North Dakota, Indiana, Utah, and Delaware. American Samoa, and Puerto Rico, two territories controlled by the USA, are also electing new leadership in November.

As soon as odds become available for these races – we will post them on this page. The sportsbooks listed below will provide options for betting on the 2020 gubernatorial elections. Below, we have offered information that can prepare bettors for the upcoming Gubernatorial betting odds.

Sportsbooks Offering Odds on 2020 Governor Races

SportsbookBonusRatingUSAVisit SiteReview
Bovada Sportsbook Logo50% Max $2505 Star RatingUSA FriendlyVisit SiteReview
Betonline Sportsbook Logo50% Max $1,0004 Star RatingUSA FriendlyVisit SiteReview
MyBookie table logo100% Max $1,0004 Star RatingUSA FriendlyVisit SiteReview
bookmaker logo100% Max $3004 Star RatingUSA FriendlyVisit SiteReview

2020 Gubernatorial Elections

Eleven states and two American territories are holding elections for new Governors on November 3, 2020.

US States

US Territories

  • Puerto Rico
  • American Samoa

About The 2020 Gubernatorial Races

There will be thirteen gubernatorial races in 2020 – eleven states and two US territories – all of which will be held in November.  These include the following states/territories, and will be contested among the listed rival candidates appearing on the ballots:

Delaware 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. John Carney (incumbent) (D)
  • David Lamar Williams Jr (D)
  • Colin Bonini (R)
  • David Bosco (R)
  • David Graham (R)
  • Julianne Murray (R)
  • Bryant Richardson (R)
  • Scott Walker (R)
  • John Machurek
  • Kathy Dematteis

Indiana 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Eric Holcomb (incumbent) (R)
  • Woody Myers (D)
  • Donald Rainwater

Missouri 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Mike Parson (incumbent) (R)
  • Nicole Galloway (D)
  • Rik Combs
  • Jerome Bauer

Montana 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Mike Cooney (D)
  • Greg Gianforte (R)
  • Lyman Bishop
  • Robert Barb

*Governor Steve Bullock is term-limited

New Hampshire 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Chris Sununu (incumbent) (R)
  • Karen Testerman (R)
  • Dan Feltes (D)
  • Andru Volinsky (D)
  • Bill Fortune
  • Darryl Perry

North Carolina 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Roy Cooper (incumbent) (D)
  • Dan Forest (R)
  • Steven DiFiore
  • Al Pisano

North Dakota 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Doug Burgum (incumbent) (R)
  • Shelley Lenz (D)
  • DuWayne Hendrickson

Utah 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Spencer Cox (R)
  • Chris Peterson (D)
  • Daniel Cottam

*Governor Gary Herbert is retiring

Vermont 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Phil Scott (incumbent) (R)
  • David Zuckerman (D)

Washington 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Jay Inslee (incumbent) (D)
  • Loren Culp (R)

West Virginia 2020 Governor’s Race

  • Gov. Jim Justice (incumbent) (R)
  • Ben Salango (D)
  • Daniel Lutz
  • Erika Kolenich
  • Quintin Gerard Caldwell
  • David Sartin

US Territories

American Samoa

  • Fatumalala L.A. Al-Shehri (NP)
  • I’aulualo Fa’afetai Talia (NP)
  • Nuanuaolefeagaiga Saoluaga T. Nua (NP)
  • Lemanu Peleti Mauga (D)

*Governor Lolo Letalu Matalasi Moliga is term-limited

Puerto Rico

  • Carlos Delgado Altieri (PPD)
  • Juan Dalmau Ramírez (PIP)
  • Alexandra Lúgaro (MVC)
  • Pedro Pierluisi (D)
  • Eliezer Molina (I)
  • César Vázquez Muñiz (PD)

*Governor Wanda Vázquez Garced was defeated in the primary election

2019 Gubernatorial Election Results

Three states held gubernatorial elections in 2019. While most states hold their governorship elections in even-numbered years during the standard general elections (both midterm and Presidential), a handful buck that trend. The following states elected the following governors in November of 2019:


Is It Legal To Bet On US Gubernatorial Elections?

Wagering on the results of a gubernatorial election is perfectly legal within the US so long as the bettor utilizes legitimately licensed sportsbooks. These sportsbooks can either be hosted offshore or regulated by the state they do business in, though domestic US books have not offered political odds of any kind to date. Thus, your best opportunity to wager on political betting odds is to sign up at an offshore sports betting site, such as the ones above.

How Often Are Gubernatorial Elections?

Typically, most states will hold their gubernatorial elections every four years. New Hampshire and Vermont hold theirs during every even-numbered year, and nine states hold their governor’s races during Presidential election years. Three states hold their gubernatorial elections the year before a Presidential election, and two states will have their governor’s races after a Presidential election year.

The remaining 34 U.S. states and 3 U.S. territories hold their governor’s races during midterm election years. Washington D.C. does not appoint a governor due to its federal district status, though D.C. hosts mayoral elections every four years.

Why Are Governors Races A Frequent Political Betting Option?

Due to the frequency of gubernatorial elections, sportsbooks are capable of offering Governor’s races as a wagering option for future or political prop bets. As states spread out the timeline of their potential gubernatorial elections, sportsbooks have time to research, plan, and provide competitive odds for political bettors.

Not only are governor’s races a popular sportsbook option in the U.S., but other countries which adopt similar political systems to America’s may also hold their own gubernatorial-style elections, which sportsbooks are sure to jump on.

Which Sportsbooks Have The Odds I Want?

Several top sports betting sites are known for their political wagering options from gubernatorial races, Senate races, House races, and 2020 Presidential Election options. Currently, their 2019-2020 gubernatorial options are limited, but as we near the elections and party candidates are narrowed, these legitimate online sportsbook platforms are sure to populate their betting odds tables.  You can find the current odds at the top of this page.